FEMA Information

Does your property have FEMA flood on it? Check it out now:
Interactive Map with FEMA Flood
Family Action Plan

Flood hazard areas identified on the Flood Insurance Rate Map are identified as a Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA).

Areas subject to inundation by the 1-percent-annual-chance flood event determined by detailed methods. Base Flood Elevations (BFEs) are shown. Mandatory flood insurance purchase requirements and floodplain management standards apply.

X Shaded
Area of moderate flood hazard, usually the area between the limits of the 100- year and 500-year floods. B Zones are also used to designate base floodplains of lesser hazards, such as areas protected by levees from 100-year flood, or shallow flooding areas with average depths of less than one foot or drainage areas less than 1 square mile.

Area of minimal flood hazard, usually depicted on FIRMs as above the 500-year flood level. Zone C may have ponding and local drainage problems that don't warrant a detailed study or designation as base floodplain. Zone X is the area determined to be outside the 500-year flood and protected by levee from 100- year flood.

Need proof that your property is or isn't in the flood for insurance or other purposes?
FIRMETTEs for Insurance Purpose

Need insurance or have questions?
Find an Agent and Other Questions

See below for some helpful links.

Tennessee Floodplain Management Quick Guide

FEMA Private Water Crossing

FEMA's National Flood Hazard Layer (NFHL) Viewer 


See if your property has any elevation certificate by calling the Building Codes Dept. at 615-898-7734. If your house was built before 1988- they will not have a record. Documentation may need to be retrieved from archives, expect delays.